Vector Research Blog : Réseaux neuronaux structurés pour l'estimation de la densité et l'inférence causale

22 janvier 2024

Perspectives Recherche

Par Asic Q. Chen, Ruian Shi, Xiang Gao, Ricardo Baptista, Rahul G. Krishnan

Dans ce billet de blog, nous présentons StrNN, un moyen efficace d'injecter une structure variable précédemment supposée dans des réseaux neuronaux arbitraires via le masquage de poids. La nature modulaire de StrNN conduit à des applications dans l'estimation de la densité, la modélisation générative, l'inférence causale, et bien plus encore.

Basé sur l'article de NeurIPS 2023 : Réseaux neuronaux structurés pour l'estimation de la densité et l'inférence causale.

Pour exécuter votre propre version de StrNN, trouvez notre paquetage Python sur GitHub.

Figure 1: StrNN injecte une structure en masquant les poids d'un réseau neuronal. En haut : connexions StrNN (vertes) comparées à un réseau entièrement connecté (gris). En bas : La factorisation binaire d'une matrice d'adjacence produit des masques de poids. Les poids masqués sont représentés en gris.

Bien que les réseaux neuronaux soient des estimateurs de fonctions universels, il peut souvent être utile de limiter la classe de fonctions qu'un réseau neuronal peut modéliser. Par exemple, dans l'étude largement citée Deep Sets1 Zaheer et al. se sont concentrés sur les fonctions invariantes par permutation, ce qui signifie que la sortie de la fonction reste inchangée quel que soit l'ordre des entrées, afin de mieux traiter les données d'apprentissage qui se présentent sous forme d'ensembles non ordonnés. Dans notre article, nous démontrons comment la structure des réseaux neuronaux peut conduire à des invariances de fonction bénéfiques pour d'autres applications. 

L'un des principaux cas d'utilisation motivants est l'estimation de la densité de probabilité, où nous utilisons des réseaux neuronaux pour modéliser la densité de probabilité conjointe de variables aléatoires. Dans ce contexte, nous connaissons souvent déjà certains faits sur le processus de génération des données lui-même, à savoir les relations d'indépendance entre les variables aléatoires. Nous obtenons généralement ces déclarations d'indépendance grâce à notre expertise dans le domaine ou à des algorithmes de découverte de structures. La structure de ces indépendances est généralement décrite à l'aide de réseaux bayésiens.

Plus généralement, nous utilisons une matrice d'adjacence pour modéliser des déclarations d'indépendance arbitraires pour les entrées et les sorties. Si nous disposons de données à d dimensions, notre matrice d'adjacence est une matrice binaire A∈{0, 1}d × dAij=0 si et seulement si xi⊥ xj | x{1, ..., i \ pa(i)} et Aij=1 sinon. Considérons un autoencodeur avec d entrées et sorties. Lorsque les sorties sont autorégressives par rapport aux entrées, A comporte tous les uns sous la diagonale et tous les zéros ailleurs. Les travaux existants, tels que l'autoencodeur masqué pour l'estimation de la densité (MADE)2 ont exploité cette structure pour utiliser chaque nœud de sortie d'un autoencodeur afin de modéliser un facteur de probabilité marginale dans la règle de la chaîne de probabilité. Nous nous intéressons plutôt à des structures d'indépendance connues plus complexes, ce qui signifie que A n'est pas seulement triangulaire inférieur, mais aussi clairsemé sous la diagonale, comme dans l'exemple illustré à la figure 1.

En nous inspirant de l'approche utilisée dans MADE, nous renforçons la structure donnée par A en multipliant les matrices de poids du réseau neuronal par des masques binaires. De cette manière, nous annulons certaines connexions dans le réseau de sorte qu'il n'y ait pas de chemins entre des entrées et des sorties indépendantes selon A. Plus concrètement, pour un réseau neuronal jouet y=f(x) avec une seule couche cachée, nous multiplions par élément (noté ʘ) les matrices de poids W et V avec des masques binaires MW et MV.

h(x) = g((W ʘMW)x+b), y = f((V ʘMV)h(x)+c)

Pour injecter la structure prescrite par A, il suffit de trouver les matrices de masque appropriées MW et MV.

L'idée clé est que l'injection de structure dans un réseau neuronal se résume à un problème de factorisation de matrice binaire. Nous formulons le problème de la manière suivante : 

Given an adjacency matrix A∈{0,1 }d × d and a neural network with L hidden layers, each with h1, h2, …, hL (≥ d) hidden units, we want to factor A into mask matrices M1 {0, 1}h1×d, M2 {0, 1}h2xh1, …, ML {0, 1}d × hL such that A’ ~ A where A’ = ML × … × M2 × M1. We use the notation A’ ~ A to denote that matrices A’ and A share the same sparsity pattern, i.e.: exact same locations of zeros and non-zeros. (Overloading notation here – it doesn’t mean matrix similarity like in linear algebra!) Note that here A is a binary matrix and A’ is an integer matrix. We then mask the neural network’s hidden layers using M1, M2, …, ML through element-wise multiplication like in the above equation to obtain a Structured Neural Network (StrNN), which respects the independence constraints prescribed by A. The value of each entry A’ij thus corresponds to the number of connections flowing from input xj to output i in the StrNN.

La factorisation des matrices binaires est un problème NP-hard. Bien que la littérature existante soit abondante, elle se concentre principalement sur la recherche de facteurs de faible rang tout en minimisant la perte de reconstruction. Dans notre cas, nous avons besoin d'une perte de reconstruction nulle si nous voulons respecter la structure donnée par A, nous devons donc trouver nos propres méthodes de factorisation.

L'identifiabilité est également un problème. Lorsque la taille des couches cachées est importante, il existe de nombreux masques possibles pour une même matrice d'adjacence. Nous devons donc spécifier des objectifs d'optimisation, qui sont directement liés à l'architecture du réseau neuronal. Par exemple, dans le présent document, nous testons principalement l'hypothèse selon laquelle la maximisation du nombre de chemins restants dans notre réseau neuronal masqué permet d'améliorer l'expressivité et la généralisation. En partant de cette idée, nous étudions deux objectifs. Le premier est illustré par l'équation 2 ci-dessous :

Il maximise la somme de toutes les entrées de A'. Comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment, cela équivaut à maximiser les chemins totaux entre toutes les entrées et sorties du StrNN. L'équation 3 constitue le deuxième objectif que nous considérons :

Nous ajoutons ici un terme de pénalité de variance, afin que les chemins restants ne soient pas trop concentrés sur une sortie. Grâce à des évaluations empiriques sur divers ensembles de données synthétiques, nous concluons que la pénalité de variance ajoutée ne fait pas de différence significative dans les performances d'estimation de densité de StrNN, et nous adoptons donc l'équation 2 comme objectif pour le reste du projet.

Nous allons maintenant nous pencher sur les méthodes de résolution du problème de factorisation de la matrice binaire. Nous pouvons trouver des solutions exactes pour maximiser les équations 2 et 3 via la programmation en nombres entiers, mais empiriquement, cette méthode est excessivement lente pour des dimensions d'entrée plus importantes (par exemple : d ≥ 20). Par conséquent, nous proposons un algorithme simple et efficace qui se rapproche de l'objectif d'optimisation (équation 2) tout en conservant une perte de reconstruction nulle lorsqu'il s'agit du modèle de rareté de la matrice d'adjacence A. Le pseudocode de notre algorithme est décrit dans l'algorithme 1 de notre article, et nous fournissons ci-dessous une visualisation d'un exemple de matrice d'adjacence.

Figure 2 : Illustration visuelle de l'algorithme 1 : l'objectif est de trouver des masques binaires appropriés à partir de la matrice d'adjacence A. À l'étape 1, nous remplissons le premier masque en copiant les lignes non nulles de A - en répétant l'opération, si nécessaire, jusqu'à ce que nous ayons rempli toutes les lignes. À l'étape 2, nous remplissons le deuxième masque en conservant autant de 1 que possible. Prenons la dernière ligne par exemple : nous initialisons d'abord les lignes à tous les 1. Nous observons que dans la dernière ligne de A, il y a des 0 dans la première et la dernière colonne. Nous trouvons alors les emplacements uniques des 1 dans la première et la dernière colonne du premier masque, en les mettant à zéro dans la dernière ligne du deuxième masque, de sorte que le produit des deux masques respecte toujours la densité donnée par la dernière ligne de A. Nous répétons cette procédure pour toutes les lignes du deuxième masque.

Voyons maintenant quelques applications de StrNN.

La normalisation des flux est un cadre populaire pour l'estimation de la densité de probabilité et les tâches de modélisation générative. Il appartient à un sous-ensemble de modèles d'estimation de la densité qui encadrent le problème comme l'apprentissage de fonctions complexes entre des espaces de haute dimension. En particulier, le cadre des flux de normalisation apprend des cartes inversibles entre une distribution de base simple et une distribution cible complexe. Cela permet une estimation simple et efficace de la vraisemblance ainsi que la génération d'échantillons. Il n'est donc pas difficile de comprendre pourquoi nous pourrions vouloir utiliser les indépendances conditionnelles connues entre les variables d'entrée lors de l'apprentissage d'un flux. Pour ce faire, nous utilisons StrNN pour renforcer les invariances de fonction dans les réseaux de flux.

La classe la plus naturelle de flux de normalisation à étendre est celle des flux autorégressifs (ARF3), qui impose une structure autorégressive entre les entrées et les sorties, de sorte que la formule de changement de variables de la probabilité, essentielle au calcul des densités de probabilité, est facile à calculer. En remplaçant les conditionneurs autorégressifs des ARF par des StrNN, nous pouvons coder des déclarations d'indépendance supplémentaires afin d'améliorer à la fois l'estimation de la vraisemblance et la qualité de la génération d'échantillons. Nous appelons cela le flux autorégressif structuré (StrAF), comme le montre la figure 3. Sur la base d'un raisonnement similaire, nous introduisons une structure dans un flux de normalisation continu appelé FFJORD4 en utilisant StrNN pour paramétrer l'équation différentielle qui décrit la dynamique de génération des données continues. La figure 4 montre une comparaison des échantillons générés par StrAF, StrCNF et les lignes de base.

Figure 3: Le StrAF injecte une adjacence prescrite dans chaque étape du flux à l'aide d'un conditionneur StrNN. Le StrAF ne permute pas les variables latentes, ce qui permet de respecter la matrice d'adjacence tout au long du flux.
Figure 4: Les échantillons générés par le modèle sont représentés par des points bleus pour des dimensions choisies au hasard. La densité de la vérité de terrain est représentée par les contours orange.

Tout en injectant une structure, StrAF et StrCNF héritent de l'efficacité de StrNN en raison de notre choix de masquage des poids. Plus précisément, la sortie du StrNN peut être calculée en un seul passage dans le réseau. En comparaison, les approches de masquage d'entrée telles que le Graphical Normalizing Flows5 doivent effectuer d'autres passages pour calculer la sortie d'une seule donnée. Cela empêche non seulement l'application efficace du masquage d'entrée à des données de grande dimension, mais constitue également un obstacle à l'intégration de la méthode dans certaines architectures. Par exemple, FFJORD nécessite déjà de nombreuses évaluations du réseau neuronal pour résoudre numériquement l'EDO définissant la carte des flux, de sorte qu'il est particulièrement inefficace d'effectuer d'autres passages par évaluation. Cela fait de notre StrNN le moyen le plus simple et le plus efficace d'injecter une structure dans ce type de flux continu.

Nous appliquons ensuite StrAF à l'estimation de l'effet causal. Nous nous appuyons sur des travaux antérieurs (Causal Autoregressive Flows6) qui modélisent les modèles d'équations structurelles comme des flux affines, ce qui conduit à des théorèmes d'identifiabilité favorables. Dans la figure 5, les résultats expérimentaux montrent que l'exploitation de la structure d'indépendance exacte améliore les performances sur les requêtes interventionnelles et contrefactuelles pour de nombreuses variables.

Figure 5 : Evaluations des prédictions causales (à gauche : interventions ; à droite : contrefactuels) sur des SEM à 5 et 10 variables réalisées par StrAF et CAREFL. La performance est mesurée par l'erreur quadratique moyenne totale correspondante avec l'écart-type sur dix exécutions. (a) mesure l'erreur de la valeur attendue d'une variable sous différentes interventions, tandis que (b) calcule l'erreur en dérivant des valeurs contrefactuelles sous différents échantillons et requêtes observés.

Conclusion

Nous avons présenté le réseau neuronal structuré, un approximateur de fonction qui nous permet d'injecter une structure variable arbitraire par le biais du masquage de poids. Nous avons présenté le masquage de poids comme un problème de factorisation de matrice binaire et proposé divers algorithmes pour le résoudre. Nous avons appliqué les réseaux neuronaux structurés à la normalisation des flux pour améliorer l'estimation de la densité et la modélisation générative, ce qui nous donne également un outil puissant pour modéliser les modèles d'équation de structure pour l'estimation de l'effet causal.

Travaux futurs

Dans notre travail, nous avons démontré l'avantage "plug-and-play" du StrNN en l'intégrant dans des architectures de flux pour effectuer l'estimation de la densité. De même, le StrNN peut être facilement incorporé dans d'autres architectures SOTA existantes afin d'appliquer une structure connue pour diverses tâches. Nous pensons que l'extension aux modèles de diffusion, à l'inférence variationnelle et même à l'apprentissage supervisé pourraient être des pistes prometteuses pour les travaux futurs.

Références

[1] Zaheer, Manzil, Satwik Kottur, Siamak Ravanbakhsh, Barnabas Poczos, Russ R. Salakhutdinov et Alexander J. Smola. "Deep sets". In Advances in neural information processing systems 30 (2017).

[2] Germain, Mathieu, Karol Gregor, Iain Murray et Hugo Larochelle. "Made : Masked autoencoder for distribution estimation". In International conference on machine learning, pp. 881-889. PMLR, 2015.

[3] Huang, Chin-Wei, David Krueger, Alexandre Lacoste et Aaron Courville. "Neural autoregressive flows". In International Conference on Machine Learning, pp. 2078-2087. PMLR, 2018.

[4] Grathwohl, Will, Ricky TQ Chen, Jesse Bettencourt, Ilya Sutskever, et David Duvenaud. "Ffjord : Free-form continuous dynamics for scalable reversible generative models." arXiv preprint arXiv:1810.01367 (2018).

[5] Wehenkel, Antoine, et Gilles Louppe. "Graphical normalizing flows". In International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Statistics, pp. 37-45. PMLR, 2021.

[6] Khemakhem, Ilyes, Ricardo Monti, Robert Leech et Aapo Hyvarinen. "Causal autoregressive flows". In International conference on artificial intelligence and statistics, pp. 3520-3528. PMLR, 2021.

En rapport :

Recherche
Une IA digne de confiance

Des experts de renommée mondiale en matière de confiance et de sécurité de l'IA publient un article majeur sur la gestion des risques liés à l'IA dans la revue Science

Perspectives
Grands modèles linguistiques

Des protocoles normalisés sont essentiels pour un déploiement responsable des modèles linguistiques

Apprentissage automatique
Recherche

Les inconnues connues : Geoff Pleiss, chercheur chez Vector, se penche sur l'incertitude pour rendre les modèles de ML plus précis.

Vector Research Blog: Structured Neural Networks for Density Estimation and Causal Inference

January 22, 2024

Insights Research

By Asic Q. Chen, Ruian Shi, Xiang Gao, Ricardo Baptista, Rahul G. Krishnan

In this blog post we introduce StrNN, an efficient way to inject previously assumed variable structure into arbitrary neural networks via weight masking. The modular nature of StrNN leads to applications in density estimation, generative modeling, causal inference, and much more.

Based on the NeurIPS 2023 paper: Structured Neural Networks for Density Estimation and Causal Inference.

To run your own version of StrNN, find our Python package on GitHub.

Figure 1: StrNN injects structure by masking the weights of a neural network. Top: StrNN connections (green) compared to a fully connected network (gray). Bottom: Binary factorization of an adjacency matrix yields weight masks. Masked weights shown in gray.

While neural networks are universal function estimators, it could often be beneficial to constrain the class of functions a neural network can model. For example, in the widely cited Deep Sets1 paper, Zaheer et al. focused on functions that are permutation invariant, which means the output of the function remains unchanged regardless of the order of the inputs, to better deal with training data that come in unordered sets. In our paper, we demonstrate how structure in neural networks could lead to function invariances beneficial in other applications. 

One main motivating use case is probability density estimation, where we use neural networks to model the joint probability density of random variables. In this setting, we frequently already know certain facts about the data generating process itself, namely independence relationships between the random variables. We usually come up with these independence statements through domain expertise or structure discovery algorithms. The structure of these independencies are commonly described using Bayesian networks.

More generally, we use an adjacency matrix to model arbitrary independence statements for inputs and outputs. If we have d-dimensional data, our adjacency matrix is a binary-valued A∈{0, 1}d × d where Aij=0 if and only if xixj | x{1, …, i \ pa(i)} and Aij=1 otherwise. Consider an autoencoder with d inputs and outputs. When the outputs are autoregressive in relation to the inputs, A has all ones under the diagonal and all zeros elsewhere. Existing work such as the Masked Autoencoder for Density Estimation (MADE)2 has exploited this structure to use each output node of an autoencoder to model a marginal probability factor in the probability chain rule. We are instead interested in more complex known independence structures, which means A is not only lower triangular, but also sparse under the diagonal, like the example shown in Figure 1.

Taking inspiration from the approach used in MADE, we enforce the structure given by A through element-wise multiplying the neural network weight matrices with binary masks. In this way, we zero out certain connections in the network so that there are no paths between independent inputs and outputs according to A. More concretely, for a toy neural network y=f(x) with a single hidden layer, element-wise multiplies (denoted by ʘ) the weight matrices W and V with binary masks MW and MV.

h(x) = g((W ʘ MW)x+b), y = f((V ʘ MV)h(x)+c)

To inject the structure prescribed by A, all we need to do is find appropriate mask matrices MW and MV.

Then the key insight is that structure injection in a neural network boils down to a binary matrix factorization problem. We frame the problem formally as follows: 

Given an adjacency matrix A∈{0,1 }d × d and a neural network with L hidden layers, each with h1, h2, …, hL (≥ d) hidden units, we want to factor A into mask matrices M1 {0, 1}h1×d, M2 {0, 1}h2xh1, …, ML {0, 1}d × hL such that A’ ~ A where A’ = ML × … × M2 × M1. We use the notation A’ ~ A to denote that matrices A’ and A share the same sparsity pattern, i.e.: exact same locations of zeros and non-zeros. (Overloading notation here – it doesn’t mean matrix similarity like in linear algebra!) Note that here A is a binary matrix and A’ is an integer matrix. We then mask the neural network’s hidden layers using M1, M2, …, ML through element-wise multiplication like in the above equation to obtain a Structured Neural Network (StrNN), which respects the independence constraints prescribed by A. The value of each entry A’ij thus corresponds to the number of connections flowing from input xj to output i in the StrNN.

Binary matrix factorization itself is an NP-hard problem. Although there is a lot of existing literature, it is mostly focused on finding low-rank factors while minimizing reconstruction loss. In our case, we need zero reconstruction loss if we want to respect the structure given by A, so we have to find our own ways to factorize.

Identifiability is also an issue. When the hidden layer sizes are large, there are many possible masks given the same adjacency matrix. So, we need to specify optimization objectives, which are directly related to the neural network architecture. For example, in this paper, we mainly test the hypothesis that maximizing the number of remaining paths in our masked neural network leads to better expressiveness and generalization. Building on this idea, we investigate two objectives. The first one can be seen in Equation 2 below:

It maximizes the sum of all entries in A’. As we mentioned earlier, this is equivalent to maximizing the total paths between all inputs and outputs in the StrNN. A second objective we consider is Equation 3:

Here we add a variance penalty term, so that the remaining paths are not too concentrated on one output. Through empirical evaluations on various synthetic datasets, we conclude that the added variance penalty does not make a significant difference in StrNN’s density estimation performance, so we adopt Equation 2 as our objective through the rest of the project.

We now turn to methods of solving the binary matrix factorization problem. We can find exact solutions to maximize Equations 2 and 3 via integer programming, but empirically it is prohibitively slow for larger input dimensions (e.g.: d ≥ 20). Therefore, we propose a simple and efficient greedy algorithm that approximates the optimization objective (Equation 2) but keeps zero reconstruction loss when it comes to the sparsity pattern of adjacency matrix A. The pseudocode of our algorithm is described in Algorithm 1 in our paper, and we provide a visualization for one example adjacency matrix below.

Figure 2: A visual illustration of Algorithm 1: we aim to find suitable binary masks given adjacency matrix A. In step 1, we populate the first mask by copying over nonzero rows of A -repeating, if necessary, until we have filled all the rows. In step 2, we populate the second mask with the goal of keeping as many 1s as possible. Take the last row for example: we first initialize the rows to all 1s. We observe that in the last row of A, there are 0s in the first and last columns. We then find the unique locations of 1s in the first and last columns of the first mask, setting those to zero in the last row of the second mask, such that the product of the two masks still respect the sparsity given by the last row of A. We repeat this procedure for all the rows in the second mask.

Now let’s look at some applications of StrNN.

Normalizing flows is a popular framework for probability density estimation and generative modeling tasks. It belongs to a subset of density estimation models that frame the problem as learning complex functions between high-dimensional spaces. In particular, the normalizing flows framework learns invertible maps between a simple base distribution and a complex target distribution. This leads to simple and efficient likelihood estimation as well as sample generation. So, it’s not hard to see why we might want to make use of the known conditional independencies between input variables while training a flow. We do so by using StrNN to enforce function invariances in the flow networks.

The most natural class of normalizing flows to extend is autoregressive flows (ARF3), which enforces an autoregressive structure between inputs and outputs so that the probability change-of-variables formula central to computing probability densities is easy to compute. Replacing the autoregressive conditioners in ARFs with StrNN, we can encode additional independence statements to improve both likelihood estimation and sample generation quality. We call this the Structured Autoregressive Flow (StrAF), as seen in Figure 3. Based on a similar rationale, we introduce structure to a continuous normalizing flow called FFJORD4 by using StrNN to parameterize the differential equation that describes the continuous data generating dynamics. Figure 4 shows a comparison of samples generated by StrAF, StrCNF, and baselines.

Figure 3: The StrAF injects a prescribed adjacency into each flow step using a StrNN conditioner. The StrAF does not permute latent variables, allowing the adjacency matrix to be respected throughout the entire flow.
Figure 4: Model generated samples are shown in blue dots for randomly selected dimensions. The ground truth density is visualized by the orange contours.

While injecting structure, both StrAF and StrCNF inherit the efficiency of StrNN due to our choice of weight masking. Specifically, the output of the StrNN can be computed with a single forward pass through the network. In comparison, input masking approaches such as the Graphical Normalizing Flows5 baseline must perform d forward passes to compute the output for a single datum. This not only prevents efficient application of input masking to high dimensional data, but also is a barrier to integrating the method with certain architectures. For example, FFJORD already requires many neural network evaluations to numerically solve the ODE defining the flow map, so making d passes per evaluation is particularly inefficient. This makes our StrNN the simplest and most efficient way to inject structure into this type of continuous flow.

We further apply StrAF to causal effect estimation. We build on prior work (Causal Autoregressive Flows6) that models structural equation models as affine flows, which leads to favourable identifiability theorems. In Figure 5, experimental results show that leveraging the exact independence structure improves performance on interventional and counterfactual queries for many variables.

Figure 5: Evaluations of causal predictions (left: interventions; right: counterfactuals) on 5- and 10-variable SEMs made by StrAF and CAREFL. Performance is measured by the corresponding total mean squared error with standard deviation across ten runs. (a) measures the error of the expected value of one variable under different interventions, while (b) computes the error by deriving counterfactual values under different observed samples and queries.

Conclusion

We introduced the Structured Neural Network, a function approximator that allows us to inject arbitrary variable structure through weight masking. We framed weight masking as a binary matrix factorization problem and proposed various algorithms to solve it. We applied structured neural networks to normalizing flows for improved density estimation and generative modeling, which also gives us a powerful tool to model structure equation models for causal effect estimation.

Future Work

In our work, we have demonstrated the plug-and-play advantage of the StrNN by integrating it into flow architectures to perform density estimation. Similarly, the StrNN can also be easily incorporated into other existing SOTA architectures to enforce known structure for various tasks. We believe extension into diffusion models, variational inference, and even supervised learning could be promising avenues for future work.

References

[1] Zaheer, Manzil, Satwik Kottur, Siamak Ravanbakhsh, Barnabas Poczos, Russ R. Salakhutdinov, and Alexander J. Smola. “Deep sets.” In Advances in neural information processing systems 30 (2017).

[2] Germain, Mathieu, Karol Gregor, Iain Murray, and Hugo Larochelle. “Made: Masked autoencoder for distribution estimation.” In International conference on machine learning, pp. 881-889. PMLR, 2015.

[3] Huang, Chin-Wei, David Krueger, Alexandre Lacoste, and Aaron Courville. “Neural autoregressive flows.” In International Conference on Machine Learning, pp. 2078-2087. PMLR, 2018.

[4] Grathwohl, Will, Ricky TQ Chen, Jesse Bettencourt, Ilya Sutskever, and David Duvenaud. “Ffjord: Free-form continuous dynamics for scalable reversible generative models.” arXiv preprint arXiv:1810.01367 (2018).

[5] Wehenkel, Antoine, and Gilles Louppe. “Graphical normalizing flows.” In International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Statistics, pp. 37-45. PMLR, 2021.

[6] Khemakhem, Ilyes, Ricardo Monti, Robert Leech, and Aapo Hyvarinen. “Causal autoregressive flows.” In International conference on artificial intelligence and statistics, pp. 3520-3528. PMLR, 2021.

Related:

Headshot of Vector Faculty Member Xi He.
Insights
Trustworthy AI

How Vector Researcher Xi He uses differential privacy to help keep data private

Solar panels sit on green grass. There are trees and skyscrapers in the background
Insights

Harnessing AI For Sustainability

Insights
Research

Vector Research Blog: Causal Effect Estimation Using Machine Learning