Vector welcomes 2020 cohort of Faculty Affiliates

December 22, 2020

Announcement News Research Success Stories

December 22, 2020

Vector Institute is pleased to announce that 72 faculty holding appointments at universities across Ontario have been appointed as 2020 Faculty Affiliates. The 2020 cohort is a combination of new and returning members. 

The Faculty Affiliates program brings together leading researchers from across Ontario to expand expertise in deep learning, machine learning, and artificial intelligence more broadly.

The Vector Faculty Affiliates Program expands the research community’s expertise in the areas of AI, computer science, engineering, and other disciplines related to machine learning, as well as strategic domains of application. Vector Faculty Affiliates form an integral part of the Vector community, engaged in both research and community activities. Where interests align, Faculty Affiliates can also benefit from interacting with industry sponsors, as well as health and academic partners, through participation in networking events, seminars, training sessions and workshops.

2020 Faculty Affiliates hold primary appointments at institutions across the province including Carleton University, Lakehead University, McMaster University, Queen’s University, Ryerson University, University of Guelph, University of Ottawa, University of Toronto, University of Waterloo, Western University, York University, Hospital for Sick Children, Sunnybrook Research Institute, University Health Network, and Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute. 

Applicants and nominees were evaluated and selected according to the strength of their research contributions, the extent to which their research and expertise will strengthen and support the vision and mission of the Vector Institute, in addition to their potential for engagement with the Vector research community and industry sponsors.

Selections were made based on recommendations from a committee of Vector Faculty who hold appointments in a variety of institutions. Faculty Affiliates are appointed for two years with new nominations considered annually.

Congratulations and welcome to the 2020 Faculty Affiliates! 

  •       Ajay Agrawal, University of Toronto
  •       Benjamin Alarie, University of Toronto
  •       Ashton Anderson, University of Toronto
  •       Hassan Ashtiani, McMaster University
  •       Suzanna Becker, McMaster University
  •       Vaughn Betz, University of Toronto
  •       Ben Blencowe, University of Toronto
  •       Yuri Boykov, University of Waterloo
  •       Marcus Brubaker, York University
  •       Neil Bruce, University of Guelph
  •       Kieran Campbell, Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute
  •       John Connolly, McMaster University
  •       V. Radu Craiu, University of Toronto
  •       Mark Daley, Western University
  •       Konstantinos Derpanis, Ryerson University
  •       Sven Dickenson, University of Toronto
  •       Thomas Doyle, McMaster University
  •       James Elder, York University
  •       Melike Erol-Kantarci, University of Ottawa
  •       Benjamin Fine, University of Toronto
  •       Ali Ghodsi, University of Waterloo
  •       Avi Goldfarb, University of Toronto
  •       Jessica Gronsbel, University of Toronto
  •       Maura Grossman, University of Waterloo
  •       Yuhong Guo, Carleton University
  •       Gillian Hadfield, University of Toronto
  •       Benjamin Haibe-Kains, University of Toronto
  •       Jesse Hoey, University of Waterloo
  •       Michael Hoffman, University of Toronto
  •       Ting Hu, Queen’s University
  •       Ihab Ilyas, University of Waterloo
  •       Alec Jacobson, University of Toronto
  •       Hui Jiang, York University
  •       Alistair Johnson, Hospital for Sick Children
  •       Gautam Kamath, University of Waterloo
  •       Nachiket Kapre, University of Waterloo
  •       Jonathan Kelly, University of Toronto
  •       Elias B. Khalil, University of Toronto
  •       Farzad Khalvati, University of Toronto
  •       Kyros Kutulakos, University of Toronto
  •       Kate Larson, University of Waterloo
  •       Vianey Leos Barajas, University of Toronto
  •       David Lie, University of Toronto
  •       Jimmy Lin, University of Waterloo
  •       Anne Martel, Sunnybrook Research Institute
  •       Roger Melko, University of Waterloo
  •       Alex Mihailidis, University of Toronto
  •       Andreas Moshovos, University of Toronto
  •       Anthony Niblett, University of Toronto
  •       Mihai Nica, University of Guelph
  •       Aleksandar Nikolov, University of Toronto
  •       Anna Panchenko, Queen’s University
  •       Vardan Papyan, University of Toronto
  •       Gerald Penn, University of Toronto
  •       Laura Rosella, University of Toronto
  •       Reza  Samavi, Ryerson University
  •       Scott  Sanner, University of Toronto
  •       Bhavin Shastri, Queen’s University
  •       Karan Singh, University of Toronto
  •       Stephen L. Smith, University of Waterloo
  •       Ranil Sonnadara, McMaster University
  •       Suzanne Stevenson,University of Toronto
  •       Babak Taati, University Health Network
  •       Hamid Reza Tizhoosh, University of Waterloo
  •       Ruth Urner, York University
  •       Olga Veksler, University of Waterloo
  •       Nandita Vijaykumar, University of Toronto
  •       Yang Xu, University of Toronto
  •       Yimin Yang, Lakehead University
  •       Albert Yoon, University of Toronto
  •       Fattane Zarrinkalam, University of Guelph
  •       Joel Zylberberg, York University



Akbar Nurlybayev, Co-Founder and COO of Vector Bronze sponsor CentML, speaks on stage at the Collision Conference 2024

Climate change and AI-compute cap off the third and final day of Collision 2024

Private AI CEO Patricia Thaine presents at Collision 2024

ChainML, Private AI, and Geoffrey Hinton underscore the importance of responsible AI development and governance at Collision 2024

Case Study
Research 2024

BMO, TELUS, and partners use Vector AI toolkit to apply computer vision techniques in the fight against climate change